Homeschool Legal Defense lists Georgia as a state with moderate homeschooling regulations. However, it is very simple to begin and continue to homeschool in Georgia with only a few yearly requirements.
Additionally, compulsory attendance in Georgia is ages 6-16 years of age.
“Between their 6th and 16th birthdays.” Official Code of Georgia Annotated § 20-2-690.1. However, if a child is under 7 and has attended more than 20 days in a Georgia public school, he is subject to the compulsory attendance laws. Ga. Code Ann. § 20-2-150(c).
Homeschooling should consist of “A basic academic educational program that includes, but is not limited to, reading, language arts, math, social studies, and science.” Ga. Code Ann. § 20-2-690(c)(4)
In Georgia, “Parents or guardians may teach only their own children in the home study program provided the teaching parent or guardian possesses at least a high school diploma or a general equivalency diploma (GED). Parents or guardians may also employ a tutor who holds at least a high school diploma or a GED to teach such children.”
Additional information can be found at The Georgia Department of Education website. Here you can find out the laws for students who would like to obtain a driving permit or license, work permits, Governors Honor Program information and the Congressional Art Competition.
To submit your Intent to homeschool or annual attendance visit the Georgia DOE website. Another resource to keep up with your yearly attendance is the Homeschool Compliance website. For a minimal cost ($12 a year) they keep up with your records for 12 years, remind you when to file, and help you stay updated with any changes in the homeschool laws here in Georgia.
“Home Schools.” Home Schools. N.p., n.d. Web. 26 Apr. 2013.